The Siburt Institute for Church Ministry seeks to equip and serve church leaders and other Christ-followers for God’s mission in the world.


The Siburt Institute was founded in the fall of 2012 as a reflection of Abilene Christian University’s commitment to serve local congregations and their leaders. The institute bears the name of the late Dr. Charles Siburt, who was one of ACU’s leading voices in churches for over 20 years and affectionately known as the “church doctor.”  The institute is proud to honor and build upon his and ACU’s legacy.


The Siburt Institute seeks to fulfill its mission through the following practices:

  • Formation: Helping leaders pursue their identity in Christ and clarify their calling through spiritual formation. The Siburt Institute views vocation—understanding God's call—as foundational to those who lead.

  • Resourcing: Offering ideas, tools, and materials to congregations and church leaders so they may flourish as they seek to be faithful to their work and life.

  • Networking: Nurturing an array of relationships among leaders to foster meaningful connections with other leaders, consultants, and learning communities.

  • Reflection: Providing avenues to reflect on ministry and culture, faith and best practices. God is actively at work in our world; creating space for conversation and reflection helps leaders recognize and participate in God's work.


Learn more about the Siburt Institute at Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube. Subscribe to our monthly e-newsletter. Donate to help us continue to provide valuable resources and services.


The Siburt Institute team includes Leah Andrews, assistant director; Ola Mae Bulkley, administrative coordinator; Carley Dodd, research director; Randy Harris, spiritual director; Karissa Herchenroeder, assistant director; Curtis King, associate director; Royce Money, founding director; Robert Oglesby Jr., Ministers' Support Network coordinator; Renee Paul, events coordinator; Carson Reed, executive director; and David Wray, Summit director.